top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenna Wagenbach

Emerald City

Driving into the Emerald city is one of my favorite memories. The city is on a mountain with a bay on the bottom, so the house and buildings are on some sort of an incline. The city overlooking the bay makes a perfect picture and is embedded into my memory.

The first thing that we did in the Emerald City was that we went to the Space Needle. Sadly we didn't go up it, but it is so interesting. It is an observation tower that the city of Seattle built for the World's Fair in 1962. According the Space Needle website, about 1.3 million people visit it each year. It has a rotating floor and a lot of glass windows, so that is the best spot to check out the amazing city of Seattle. I would want to go back some day just to go up the tower.


Another thing that we did on our short trip in Seattle was going to Pike's Place. It was a very crowded area were a lot of vendors were trying to sell. My favorite part of going there was watching the people selling the fish throw them into the air for a show. For me personally it was too crowded. I would say though that it was a good experience for me. I would not like to do that again due to the excessive amount of people everywhere.

The next place we went to was the gum wall. It was kind of cool to see all of that gum in one place. Right when I walked down the alley where the gum wall was, I realized how much gum there was there. Immediately after getting there, the smell in the atmosphere changed.


At that moment I realized how disgusting the gum wall actually is. Just thinking about all of the people that have walked up to that wall to place their chewed gum on it gives me a lot of mixed emotions.



My little brother, Dawson loves everything about baseball. He can answer about any question that you might ask him pertaining to baseball. While we were in Seattle, it was his birthday. So, we decided to take him to a baseball game.


We were planning on surprising him and we were partially successful. My older brother, Alec, let the cat out of the bag the morning that we were supposed to go to the game. But I am surprised that my family was able to keep a secret for that long. Going to the Mariners game was my personal favorite part of the trip the Seattle.


The main reason for my family going to Seattle was to go on our cruise. I am so glad that Seattle was the city that we left from. I'm glad that my family and I got to experience a little more of the west coast through this trip. Seeing the city of Seattle from the cruise and as we were driving into the city was my favorite part. Even though my trip to Seattle was short, it was very eventful. Everything we did something new and that is what made this trip so memorable.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page