top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenna Wagenbach

The Highest State


“Are we there yet?” whined my little brother. “Almost there, just one more hour,” responds my mom. I thought that we would never get there, but we finally made it to our final destination, Colorado. The drive was long but it was well worth the amazing view of the snow-covered trees and mountains. As I breathed in the fresh mountain air, I knew that this trip was going to be pretty great and memorable. We traveled with some of our close friends and family, which made it even better.


The first thing we did when we got there was checked into our condo. We had 13 people in a condo meant for 10! I knew that this was going to get interesting pretty quick. 4 of us had to sleep on couches and on the floor. It was definitely worth it though. We had a long week ahead of us. Staying together brought us all closer. I wouldn’t trade that for the world.


The main reason why we went to Colorado was to shred down some slopes. The mountains are perfect. My family loves to go skiing, especially with other people. At first I didn’t really want to go because of past experiences on the slopes. So while in Colorado I tried snowboarding for the first time, and I really loved it. I’m glad that through this trip I found something new that I really love and enjoy.

Also while we were in Colorado we completed an escape room. Again, this was something completely new to me and my family. We completed one with a wild west theme right before our time was up. In fact, we had so much that the next day we went back and completed a second one about firefighters. I have to say that the escape rooms were nothing as to what I was expecting. They had so much detail and everything little detail was important. I would definitely want to do another one sometime.


Another thing that we did was go to a hot spring. It was so weird swimming when it was like 30 degrees outside. It’s crazy to believe that I could be swimming and then look around and see snow all around me. Watching the steam coming off of the water was my favorite part. Overall it was pretty cool and I would recommend it to everyone.


After the hot springs, me and my friends were inspired to try something different. Typically everyday after we went skiing, we would go relax in the hot tub outside, but we wanted to make things a bit more interesting. Before we got into the hot tub, we had to all roll in the snow. It was very cold. It was amusing to watch everyone’s reaction to the temperature difference.


We didn’t just go to Colorado to ski, we also went to try new things. Coming back from this trip made me realize how many new experiences I have under my belt. This trip just brought me closer to the family we went with and made it so much more memorable. Who could have guessed that in one week so many memories could be made.

15 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page