top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenna Wagenbach

The Sunshine State



It's the middle of winter, and what place would you rather be Illinois or Florida? Most people would respond with Florida. But what makes Florida so special? Is it just the warm the weather or is there more to it? My family travels there quite a bit for multiple reasons. One of the main reasons is to spend more time with our family. It makes it so much better being able to travel and go on new experiences with the people that you love.


The place that is a "must go" place for my family is the beach. We enjoy playing football, volleyball, or Frisbee on the nice, hot sand. The beach is where we can take a relaxing break from our daily lives and just watch the tide come in and go back out.


My family and I love amusement parks, so we had to go to some the last time we were there. One that we went to was Busch Gardens. At first I was hesitant to go on all of rides. By the end of the day, I had branched out and went on everyone. I would have to say that my favorite ride was called the SheiKra. This one was my favorite because right at top of the 200 foot coaster, it stops facing down towards the ground. Then it drops going 70 mph. So many emotions go through my head every time I see the ground getting closer and closer.


Another ride that I really enjoyed was Falcon's Fury. It was a tower, like the superman in six flags, with a 335 foot drop. But that was even the most thrilling part. Once at the top, the seat turned and faced you towards the ground. It just gives the thrill of falling towards the ground at a top speed of 60 mph.

One of my favorite places that I have ever been to is Dolphin Cove. M childhood dream has always been to swim with dolphins and in this past year, my dream came true. My parents completely surprised us. The day that we went, they just told us to hop in the car, and we were very surprised. We got to ride on the dolphin's back and watch them do cool tricks. I am so glad that my childhood dream came true. Another cool thing about Dolphin Cove was that we could go snorkeling with sting rays and tropical fish. It was just so cool to see the fish swimming right below me.


One thing that I also enjoyed there was the unlimited food. My favorite was getting done with snorkeling and enjoying a nice and cold slushie. But I would have to say that my favorite food there was the mac and cheese.


Two of my favorite traditions are going fishing with my grandparents and going out to breakfast with my aunt and uncle. The most memorable part to going fishing is about the ducks that hang around the boat. Every single time that anyone in my family would catch a fish the duck would notice. Then they would proceed to dive under the surface and eat the fish right off the line before we could get it out of the water. This would always make us laugh and give the ducks credit for knowing how to get their food. The memories that I have made in Florida are super special to me and I hope that I can continue making more.





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page